

# 2021 MT Legislator's Trapping Voting Record & Grades

©Trap Free Montana Public Lands

**INTRODUCTION**: In the 2019 Montana legislative session, 2-4 trapping related bills were voted on by a legislator. Whereas, 8 trapping/anti-wolf related bills made it to the floor of the full House and Senate vote in the 2021 session. Another two trapping bills died in committee. In 2019, TFMPL gave a "B" grade to a legislator for 3:4 bill votes, "C" for 2:4, and an "A" for the one and only vote a legislator had to cast and that was in support of our position. For the 2021 votes, we used standardized percentages for the grade. For more insight, the percentage is provided of the legislator's vote in support of TFMPL's position on the \*10 trapping related bills.

Although opposing trapping is bipartisan, the Montana 2021 trapping related and wildlife bills were almost exclusively voted along party lines.

Montana State Senate 2021

A Total of 25 seats out of the chamber's 50 Senate seats were up for election in 2020.

District	Senator	Party	Incumbent		2019 Grade	2021 Grade
2	Glimm, Carl	R				F 8%
3	Reiger, Keith	R	x		F	F 0%
6	Hertz, Greg	R		uncontested		F 0%
7	Brown, Bob Sponsored 2021	R		2019 Rep (HD13)	F	F 0%
	SB267,					

	SB314					
10	Fitzpatrick, Steve	R	x	uncontested	A (e.g. 1 bill)	F 0%
15	Osmundson , Ryan	R	x	uncontested	F	F 0%
16	Fox, Mike	D		uncontested		B 85%
17	Lang, Mike	R	x	uncontested	F	F 0%
18	Hinebauch, Steve	R	x		F	F 0%
21	Small, Jason	R	x		А	F 23%
23	McGillvray, Tom	R		uncontested		F 0%
25	Gross, Jen	D	x		А	A 92%
26	Friedel, Chris	R				F 0%
28	Molar, Brad	R		uncontested		F 1%
31	Pope, Christopher	D				A 92%
35	Sales, Walt	R		uncontested		F 8%
36	Welborn, Jeff	R	x		F	F 8%
37	Lynch, Ryan	D				B 85%
38	McClafferty, Edith	D	x		A	A 92%
39	Sweeney, Mark	D		2019 Rep (HD77)	В	B 85%
40	Gauthier, Terry	R	x		А	F 23%
44	Manzella, Theresa	R			F	F 0%
45	Boldman, Ellie (Hill-Smith)	D			A	F 92%
46	O'Brien,	D				A 92%

	Shannon				
47	Saloman, Dan	R	х	А	F 23%

## The following won the 25 open Senate seats for the 2021 legislative session:

District	Senator	Party	2021 Grade
1	Mike Cuffe	R	F 0%
4	Mark Blasdel	R	F 8%
5	Bob Keenan	R	F 0%
8	Susan Webber	D	A 92%
9	Bruce Gillespie	R	F 0%
11	Tom Jacobson	D	F+ 54%
12	Carlie Boland	D	A 92%
13	Brian Hoven	R	F 38%
14	Russel Tempel	R	F 0%
19	Kenneth Bogner	R	F 15%
20	Duane Ackney	R	F 15%
22	Doug Kary	R	F 0%
24	Mary McNally	D	B 85%
27	Cary Smith	R	F 8%
29	David Howard	R	F 0%
30	John Esp	R	F 8%
32	Pat Flowers Sponsored SB60	D	C 77%
33	Jennifer Pomnichowski	D	A 92%
34	Gordon Vance	R	F 8%
41	Janet Ellis	D	B 85%
42	Jill Cohenour	D	B 85%

43	Jason Ellsworth	R	F 8%
48	Shane Morigeau	D	A 92%
49	Diane Sands	D	A 92%
50	Tom Steenberg	D	N/A assumed office September 21, 2021

#### End of Senate members.

## Montana State House 2021

All 100 seats in the Montana House of Representatives were up for election in 2020. Grades A-F assigned 2019. For 2021, added to the grade was the percentage of the vote in support of TFMPL's position on \*8 trapping related bills and 2 bills tabled in committee.

District	Rep	Party	Incumbent		2019 Grade	2021 Grade
1	Steve Gunderson	R	x		F	F 0%
2	Neil Duram	R	x		F	F 0%
3	Braxton Mitchell	R				F 0%
4	Matt Regier	R	x	uncontested	F	F 0%
5	Dave Fern	D	x		А	B 85%
6	Amy Regier	R				F 0%
7	Frank Garner	R	x		F	F 0%
8	John Fuller	R	x		F	F 0%
9	Brian Putnam	R				D+ 60%
10	Mark Noland	R	x		F	F 0%
11	Derek Skees	R	x		F	F 0%
12	Linda Reksten	R				F 0%

13	Paul Fielder	R				F 0%
	Sponsored					
	HB138, HB163, HB224,					
	HB225, HB367					
14	Denley Loge	R	x		F	F 0%
15	Marvin Weatherma x Jr.	D	x		A	B 87%
16	Tyson Runningwolf	D	x		А	B 87%
17	Ross Fitzgerald	R	x			F 0%
18	Llew Jones	R	x			F 0%
19	Wendy McKamey	R	x			F 0%
20	Fred Anderson	R	x			F 0%
21	Edward Buttrey	R	x			F 0%
22	Lola Sheldon-Ga Iloway	R	x			F 0%
23	Scot Kerns	R				F 0%
24	Steven Galloway	R				F 0%
25	Steve Gist	R				F 0%
26	Jeremy Trebas	R				F 0%
27	Joshua Kassmier	R	x	uncontested	F	F 0%
28	Ed Hill	R				F 0%

29	Den Dertel	Б		uncentected		
	Dan Bartel	R	x	uncontested	F	F 0%
30	Wylie Galt	R	х		F	F 0%
31	Frank Smith	D				B 85%
32	Jonathan Windy Boy	D	x		A	A 92%
33	Casey Knudsen	R	x		F	F 0%
34	Rhonda Knudsen	R	x		F	F 0%
35	Brandon Ler	R				F 0%
36	Bob Phalen	R				F 0%
37	Jerry Schillinger	R				F 0%
38	Kenneth Holmlund	R	x		С	F 0%
39	Geraldine Custer	R	x	uncontested	А	F 0%
40	Barry Usher	R	x		F	F 0%
41	Rynalea Whiteman Pena	D		uncontested		A 92%
42	Sharon Stewart-Per egoy	D	x		A	B 85%
43	Kerri Seekins-Cro we	R				F 6%
44	Larry Brewster	R				F 0%
45	Kabe Zolnikov	R				F 0%
46	Bill Mercer	R	x		F	F 0%
47	Katharin Kelker	D	x		A	A 92%
48	Jessica Karjala	D	x		С	A 92%

49	Emma Kerr-Carpen ter	D	x		A	C 77%
50	Mallerie Stromswold	R				F 0%
51	Frank Fleming	R	x		F	F 0%
52	Jimmy Patelis	R				F 0%
53	Dennis Lenz	R	x	uncontested	F	F 0%
54	Terry Moore	R	x		F	F 0%
55	Vince Ricci	R	x	uncontested	F	F 0%
56	Sue Vinton	R	x	uncontested	F	F 0%
57	Fiona Nave	R		uncontested		F 0%
58	Seth Berglee	R	x		F	F 0%
59	Marty Malone	R				F 0%
60	Laurie Bishop	D	x		А	B 85%
61	Jim Hamilton	D	x	uncontested	А	C 77%
62	Ed Stafman	D				B 85%
63	Alice Buckley	D				B 85%
64	Jane Gillette	R				F 0%
65	Kelly Kortum	D				B 85%
66	Denise Hayman	D	x	uncontested	A	B 85%
67	Jedediah Hinkle	R		uncontested		F 0%
68	Caleb Hinkle	R				F 0%

69	Jennifer Carlson	R		uncontested		F 0%
70	Julie Dooling	R	x	uncontested	F	F 0%
71	Kenneth Walsh	R				F 15%
72	Tom Welch	R	x	uncontested	F	F 15%
73	Jim Keane	D	x		С	C 77%
74	Derek Harvey	D	x		A	F 54%
75	Marta Bertoglio	R				F 0%
76	Donavon Hawk	D				B 85%
77	Sara Novak	D				F 29%
78	Gregory Frazer	R				F 0%
79	Robert Farris-Olsen	D	x		А	B 87%
80	Becky Beard	R	x		F	F 0%
81	Mary Caferro	D	x		А	B 85%
82	Moffie Funk	D	x		А	B 85%
83	Kim Abbott	D	x		А	B 85%
84	Mary Ann Dunwell	D	x		А	B 85%
85	Michelle Binkley	R				F 0%
86	David Bedey	R	x	uncontested	С	F 0%
87	Ron Marshall	R				F 0%
88	Sharon Greef	R	x	uncontested	С	C 73%

89	Katie Sullivan	D	х	A	A 92%
90	Marilyn Marler	D	x	A	B 87%
91	Connie Keogh	D	x	А	85%
92	Mike Hopkins	R	x	A	F 0%
93	Joe Read	R	x	F	F 0%
94	Tom France	D			B 80%
	Sponsored				
	HB523, HB524				
95	Danny Tennenbau m	D			B 85%
96	Kathy Whitman	R			A 92%
97	Brad Tschida	R	x	F	F 0%
98	Willis Curdy	D	x	 А	C 77%
99	Mark Thane	D			C 77%
100	Andrea Olson	D	x	А	A 92%

### End of Montana House of Representatives members.

\*For the 2021 legislative session, legislators were graded on 10 trapping related bills, 8 bills that made it to the floor and 2 bills tabled in committee.

These bills were assigned two categories based on type and weight of impact. The following bills were given 1 point:HB138: Private property permission, HB163: Increase F&W Commissioners, SB60: Trapper Education, and the two bills tabled in committee: HB523: Relaxing Snares & dates, HB524: Relaxing Snares & public posting.

2 points were assigned to: HB224: Wolf Snaring, HB225 Extended Wolf Trapping Season, HB367: Constitutional Amendment, SB267: Wolf Bounties, SB314: Reduce Wolves to bare min.

No matter the state, get to know your legislator and those running for office. Thank those who vote for wildlife. Respectfully communicate that you will not tolerate the proliferation of these destructive and unnecessary attacks on wildlife, disrespectful and unethical treatment of them, and the indiscriminate cruelty inherent in trapping. Insist wildlife management be based on the best available science, non-lethal alternatives to mitigate wildlife conflicts, preserving wildlife biodiversity for healthy ecosystems, and for safe use of our public lands from trapping.

Legislators need to either vote for wildlife or they need to be voted out!

## Contact Montana legislators!

We urge you to speak up for wildlife! Make them a priority in your voting record!

We have a voice, they do not!

Thank you!